Filming permits

Pay it forward – by obtaining film permits, you are helping to protect our natural environments and public resources, ultimately building a more robust and sustainable film industry for the benefit of everyone.

Local councils

The Bay of Plenty consists of seven district and city councils, as well as the Bay of Plenty Regional Council and Department of Conservation (DOC).

It’s important that the correct authority and permission is obtained to film on land, rail or roads managed by councils, DOC or local iwi (local indigenous Māori tribes). All productions need to have:

  • Public liability insurance 
  • A Health & Safety policy 
  • A risk assessment plan for each location

Film Bay of Plenty has long standing partnerships with our local councils and with free production hours available, we are here to help productions easily navigate the filming permit process. Film credits should acknowledge the assistance of Film Bay of Plenty and Partners in addition to giving credit to any location featured in the Bay of Plenty.

filming permit bay of plenty tcc

Tauranga City Council

Tauranga is the largest population centre in the Bay of Plenty.  At the beautiful harbour entrance stands Mauao – an extinct volcano.  Both Tauranga & Mount Maunganui are administed by Tauranga City Council


+64 7 577 7000


91 Willow Street

filming permit bay of plenty western bay council

Western Bay District Council

Western Bay surrounds Tauranga City with the main urban centres of Te Puke, Katikati and Waihi Beach being adminstered by the Western Bay of Plenty District Council.


+64 7 571 8008


1484 Cameron Road

filming permit bay of plenty rotorua lakes council

Rotorua Lakes Council

Situated inland, Rotorua is a Māori cultural and tourism hub with many freshwater lakes, native forests and geothermal attractions.


+64 7 351 7684


1061 Haupapa Street

filming permit bay of plenty Whakatane district council

Whakatāne District Council

Located in Eastern Bay of Plenty, Whakatāne is a coastal town with beautiful beaches and large areas of native forest.


+64 7 306 0500


14 Commerce Street

Ōpōtiki District Council

The untouched coasts, forests and rivers surrounding this area are rich in historical and cultural significance.


+64 7 315 3030


108 St John Street

filming permit bay of plenty kawerau district council

Kawerau District Council

Surrounded by a pine forest with a large mill to process the timber and geothermal power stations billowing steam into the sky, this town sits in the Tarawera Valley at the foot of the dramatic Mount Putauaki, also known as Mount Edgecumbe.


+64 7 306 9009


Ranfurly Court

filming permit bay of plenty taupo district council

Taupō District Council

South of Rotorua, the town of Taupō is at the centre of the North Island, next to the largest lake in New Zealand and features geothermal areas, the Huka Falls and dominant mountains such as Mount Ngāuruhoe.


+64 7 376 0899


The Hub, Level 1
32 Roberts Street

Bay of Plenty Regional Council

The regional council is responsible for land, air and water as well as public transport and economic development.  They work in conjunction with the territorial authorities in the Bay of Plenty region.


+64 7 922 3390


PO Box 364

Department of Conservation (DOC)

To film anything for commercial purposes on public conservation land you must have a concession from the Department of Conservation (DOC). They offer a free pre-application meeting and help with contacting the local iwi.

Film crews should provide DOC with sufficient time to respond properly to requests for filming permits.  For small low-impact crews a couple of weeks will be sufficient, for larger crews at least four weeks, and possibly a couple of months, will be required.  Extra time will also be needed for shoots that are spread across a number of DOC area offices.  

Regional DOC offices

Rotorua DOC Office

99 Sala Street,
Rotorua 3010

Phone: +64 7 349 7400

Whakatāne DOC Office

1/100 Valley Road

Phone: +64 7 307 2770

Tauranga DOC Office

253 Chadwick Road West
Tauranga 3112

Phone: +64 7 578 7677

Taupō DOC Office

37 Motutaiko Street
Taupō 3330

Phone: +64 7 376 0072

Local iwi

Māori are key partners, stakeholders and members of our community. The Bay of Plenty has the largest number of iwi within any region in New Zealand. Iwi/hapū/whānau must be consulted in conjunction with the Department of Conservation where their land is involved and whether filming will affect their cultural values.

Key considerations for filmmakers in relation to sites that are significant to
Maori include, but are not necessarily limited to: 

  • The use of indigenous knowledge and any reference to iwi
  • Misuse or misappropriation of iwi history, stories or legends
  • Use (on-screen) of culturally significant sites including maunga (mountains) and marae (communal meeting house).
  • There are areas that are of significant cultural value to the local iwi of the Bay of Plenty. Filming and photography requests and associated activities must respect, recognise and not adversely affect the cultural value or integrity of the local iwi.

Film Bay of Plenty is happy to help with further connections to local iwi to ensure proper protocols and consultation takes place.